Grande Chemically Processed Latte, please

I *love* coffee.  That’s one of my favorite things about winter–warming up with some yummy creamy coffee.  Caramel is my absolute fave, but I’m open to other flavors, too.  A few days ago I came across a post on Deliciously Organic where Carrie posted recipes for coffee creamer withOUT using processed ingredients.  I’m not hugely concerned about that, but I’m gradually coming around to seeing the benefits of sticking with natural {and sometimes organic} foods.  We’ve switched almost exclusively to organic free-range locally farmed eggs, we’re growing our vegetable garden without chemical fertilizers, our beef comes from grass-fed locally raised cows, same with our pork.  And I just recently discovered a source for organic free-range chicken.  When I can afford it, and when it makes sense I’m going natural/organic.  So when I came across these creamer recipes {and I have to admit, I go through the creamer!!} and was reminded that most creamers are full of artificial colors, flavors, preservatives, refined sugars, high fructose corn syrup, and hydrogenated oils, I thought I’d give it a shot.  I love homemade things as long as it’s not too tricky and these recipes looks pretty darn simple! 

Little Miss A and I stopped at the store on the way home from church today {while the Hubs and Mr. M headed to the in-laws’ for the afternoon} and I picked up the ingredients I needed to make the caramel creamer.  Good thing we did–in the last 4 hours we’ve gotten over 6″ of snow…and sleet and freezing rain is in the forecast in the next few hours.  Faaaaaannnntastic.  {sarcasm dripping}  At least I’ll be able to cozy up with my girl, some movies and a hot cup of creamy caramelly coffee goodness! 

Here it is, friends:

CARAMEL CREAMER

The caramel recipe makes twice what you need for the coffee creamer recipe. You can store the caramel in the fridge to use for another coffee creamer recipe or use it to drizzle over ice cream. Makes about 2 1/2 cups
Caramel:
3/4 cup organic whole cane sugar or sucanat
5 tablespoons water
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy cream {I used half & half to make it a little lighter}
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

{Not the cheapest option, but more natural and has a great rich flavor}

Put the cane sugar and water in a medium saucepan. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Continue to simmer until mixture reaches 240ºF. {I don’t have a candy thermometer, just a meat thermometer that only goes up to 200º so I heated it about a minute or so after it hit 200º} Remove from heat and whisk in cream and vanilla. Cool.

Creamer:
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup whole milk {again, I used 2 cups half & half, instead of buying cream AND milk}
1/2 cup homemade caramel

Whisk together cream, milk and caramel in a medium saucepan over medium heat. When the mixture begins to steam, remove from the heat. Pour into a glass bottle and store in the refrigerator. {I didn’t have a glass bottle, so I poured it into a canning jar.  Umm…maybe I’m not that coordinated, but it made a mess when I poured it!  So I poured it back into the half & half container since it had a screw on cap.  I had a small amount that didn’t fit, so I put it into another container and sent A across the street to share it with K.N. 🙂 } 

{mason jar = cute for photo = not at all practical for pouring}

{yummmmmm...}

 For more great organic/all-natural creamer {and other} recipes, check out what Carrie has over at Deliciously Organic!

Tags: , , ,

6 Comments to “Grande Chemically Processed Latte, please”

  1. can’t wait to make it…LOVE the mug you used 😉

  2. I am going to try this with our Almond Milk that I drink. I realize that it’s not the same as cream, so I could have a major flop, but if it works, I’d be so excited!!

  3. made some tonight… i’ll let you know how it goes with the morning brew. 🙂

  4. Good for you! I’m trying to get there too… I know it’s better for all of our bodies. Keep the info coming, it helps encourage us to keep going.
    p.s. Court- I’ve started drinking almond milk and it’s amazing! 🙂 I also like the coconut milk (not the thick kind in the can!!).

  5. Did I just post a comment from my old blog? Oops… I meant to just tell you to keep these kind of posts coming. I’m trying to eat more natural too, as I know it’s better for all of us. And, it’s nice to see your recipes, etc… so that we keep going.

Leave a Reply

