Pump It!

Hey there…anybody snowed in yet?  We’re hunkering down for the “Big Blizzard of ’11” here in the midwest.  Got my workout in this morning and I’m coming to grips with the fact that school will most likely be canceled tomorrow {booo!}, but I might need to send the Hubs out to the grocery for some milk.  If you’re snowed in {and have the supplies} now is the perfect time to try making some zipper flower accessories or some skincare products, wouldn’t you agree?  Has anyone out there tried the lotion or chapstick yet?  What did you think? 

 I love the lotion, but last night I thought I’d experiment a little bit.  I wanted to see if I could make a slightly thinner version of the lotion {it ends up pretty thick and creamy} that could go in an old lotion pump bottle.  I also wanted to try adding a little coconut oil for added benefits and moisturizing. 

 I started with the original recipe of 1/4 C emulsifying wax but I substituted some of the olive oil with coconut oil–about 1 Tbsp coconut oil, then added enough olive oil to fill the 1/4 cup measuring cup the rest of the way.  I melted it like before {60 second in the microwave}.  Then, instead of using 1-1/4 C water, I used 1-1/2 cups.  This morning I checked the lotion {setting it overnight on the counter–didn’t want to make my previous mistake of letting it set in the fridge!} and it was still pretty thick so I added another 1/4 C water and put the lotion in the microwave for about 45 seconds.  Then I stirred the concoction to blend it.  Perfect!  The lotion was still creamy-dreamy, but thin enough to put into the lotion pump bottle and pump successfully.  I’m sure you could probably add even more water if you wanted to.  I’d guess a total of about 2 cups of water {rather than the original 1-1/4 cups}.  Not only will it dispense from a regular lotion bottle, but you’ll end up with more lotion!

Stay warm, friends!

Leave a Reply

