Rock on! ZZZzzz…

Remember last week when I mentioned stupid late bedtimes and the havoc it wreaks on my body?  Yeah, I did it again last night.  In preparation for Monkey M’s “Rockin’ Birthday Party” {more on that later, I promise}, The Hubs and I stayed up until stupid:00am {aka 4:00am}.  That, folks, is procrastination at its finest.  I absolutely love planning and carrying out a themed party.  It can get detailed and very expensive very quickly.  But it is OH-SO-FUN for me!! 

M’s 4th birthday party this year involved The Hubs writing a song and then having M and 6 of his friends/cousins go to a studio {Sound Street Studios} to play and record it.  M was on the drum kit, of course {my very unbiased opinion is that M will one day end up a famous drummer!}, while his buddies {and some others, including his friends’ dads, The Hubs, my dad “Papa”, the “videographer” for “behind the scenes” footage, and the photographer, Emily} played other various instruments.  It was the most fun, adorable, chaotic, awesome party for a bunch of young boys!  I mean, there are ALL kinds of princess parties out there for girls, why not more Rock Star parties for boys {and girls, too, of course}??  We’ll even get a mixed-down version of the song on CD!  The afternoon came to a close with lunch, presents and cake pops at Pizza Hut.  I suppose I could’ve hosted a very rock star themed lunch, but quite frankly I didn’t want to clean the house!  {My poor husband did NOT marry a good house keeper!} 

In any case…a lot of the details were planned well in advance of the party, but almost nothing {on my part, anyway…The Hubs was checking things off his list left and right} had been carried out.  The cake pops were not made, the VIP passes were not done, the treat bags were not filled, the party clothes had not been washed/dried, etc., etc.  You get the picture.  So, finally, at 4am, The Hubs {who was fantastic enough to help me finish my list of things until the wee hours} and I turned off our lights with alarms set for a mere 4 hours later. 

Suffice it to say, we’re exhausted today.  My “perfect” party-planning-photo-taking mom self would love to post some of the photos I took today, but doggone it, I’M TIRED!  Sooo…I took a melatonin and I’m well on my way to La-La Land.  I’m not going to stress about not having the photos edited today, but I will be back soon with a full account of the ROCK STAR party!

I’ll leave you with this shot of M dodging the paparazzi with a very clever sunglasses disguise…

{Who IS that?! Must be someone famous...}

Leave a Reply

