Pics for the Pits

Here are the aforepromised pics of the deodorant-making process.

{most of the lovely ingredients}

3 Tablespoons shea butter
3 Tablespoons baking soda
2 Tablespoons corn starch
2 Tablespoons cocoa butter
2 vitamin E oil gel caps (puncture and squeeze out the oil)
Essential Oil {I use tea tree oil and lavender}

{Measuring in the shea butter}

Measure the butters, baking soda and corn starch into a microwave safe container.

{Here’s where I’ll add a weird {un}perfect little tidbit about myself.  I get the chills just thinking about corn starch!  I mean, nails-on-the-chalkboard kind of chills.  Seriously can’t stand it.  Other things that give me the willy-chillies: styrofoam, red delicious apples, under-cooked green beans, and cotton balls.  I hate things that are “squeaky” to the bite or touch.  You should see my arms right now–TOTAL goose bumps even just thinking about all these things!}

Hmm…guess I didn’t remember to take any more pics of the deodorant process.  Remember how I said I’m good at starting things??  Yeah…

In any case…  After you’ve measured all the ingredients {minus the vitamin E and essential oil}, microwave for about 30-60 seconds until the butters have melted.  Stir it all together, then add the oils.  It takes a bit more essential oil than you would think because the smell of the butters is pretty strong.  Not necessarily bad, just strong, ya know?  I use tea tree oil because it has anti-bacterial properties, but I also use another scent {like lavender} to sort of soften the scent up a little.

After you’ve stirred in the Vitamin E oil and the essential oils, pour the mixture into your container.  This recipe makes about 1/4 pint.  Put the container into the fridge {I promise, this time it’s ok to speed up the setting process!} to harden.

When I use this deodorant, I use a craft stick {think un-used popsicle stick} to scrape out about a pea-sized amount and then rub it in on my pits.  It feels a little oily and moist {in a good way}, so go ahead and rub it in like lotion.   This deodorant won’t necessarily keep you completely dry, but it’s a great all-natural {without all those scary breast cancer concerning chemical ingredients} deodorant option.  I’m extra-stinky {I’ve been known to use “prescription strength” deodorant}, so sometimes I’ll apply twice a day, but for more normal pitted people, once should be enough.  Check it out and let me know what you think.  Send me the good, the bad and the stinky comments!

2 Comments to “Pics for the Pits”

  1. Can our next get-together be making something like natural lotion or deodorant? I think you’re amazing! And this sounds like so much fun, but a little intimidating for a first timer!

  2. Yes, let’s! Are you going to be in town for a while now? Let’s plan an evening…and maybe Dara can join us 🙂 Starting this week, I’ll have Wednesday evenings free, or if we want to do a weekend so Dara can come, that can be arranged too. Fun!

Leave a Reply

