Stinky Pits Solved: Au Natural

I found this “recipe” for homemade deodorant here the other day and thought, why not? Here’s how:

{Ingredients}

  • 1/4 C. Corn Starch
  • 1/4 C. Baking Soda
  • 6 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
  • Empty deodorant container

{Mix it up}

Mix all three ingredients up with a fork until it forms a semi-solid mixture.  Since I made this in the summer and I don’t always keep the AC on, my coconut oil melted making my mixture look like this:

{creamy dreamy}

Very creamy and pretty, but not what I need…so into the fridge it went for about 10 minutes.

{That's better}

There we go!   I also added a couple drops of lavender oil for a light scent.

{SMASH}

Now it’s the perfect consistency to smash into an empty deodorant container.  Smash away!

{Ta-Da!}

The end product!

I tried it for a few days in our humid 80+ degree weather and I’ve decided a few things about it:

  • It worked!  It honestly kept the stink away!
  • Unfortunately my {unperfect!} skin might just be a bit too sensitive for this recipe, but I think I’ll give it another try.  Stay tuned…
  • It’s a great idea to keep the deodorant in the fridge during the summer since coconut oil “melts” and turns to liquid at 76 degrees F.
  • Deodorant is FUN to make!
Leave a Reply

